clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Know Your Enemy - LAFC Edition

On Sunday February 18th, at 3:00 PM PST the Vancouver Whitecaps visit Los Angeles Football Club at the UCLA Campus Fields.

LAFC are an expansion side for the 2018 Major League Soccer campaign. They are helmed by one of the most experienced managers in the MLS, Bob Bradley. In his last gig, Bradley became the first American to manage a Premier League side with Swansea FC. He was subsequently dispatched after only 85 days as the team went a dismal 2-7-2 to start the season. Bradley is building LAFC from the ground up after being named manager in June of last year. Bradley has previously taken the Chicago Fire from an expansion side to league and open cup champions in their inaugural MLS campaign in 1998. He very nearly won the MLS cup again with Chivas after taking the helm there in their second MLS season in 2006.

LAFC has employed a 4-3-3 in each of their first two contests, which Bradley altered in the second match to a slightly more conservative 4-1-4-1. LAFC has a very dangerous attack up top with Costa Rican international Marco Ureña, and DP’s Diego Rossi, and Carlos Vela leading the way. LAFC have strength throughout the lineup after picking a nice balance of MLS vets in the expansion draft. This match should be an entertaining and physical affair if LAFC plays like they did in their first couple of fixtures.

There are a pair of familiar faces on the backline for LAFC. Former Whitecaps Jordan Harvey and Steven Beitashour will be the fullback pairing for LAFC as they were for the Caps in the 2014 and 2015 seasons.

So far this pre-season LAFC has faced TFC and NYCFC, coming away with a 2-2 draw and a 1-1 draw respectively. Kendall Waston’s Tico’s teammate Marco Ureña has scored all three goals for LAFC thus far. The caps backline will need to be on high alert whenever Ureña is on the ball.

Full Roster

Keepers: Tyler Miller, Luis Lopez,

Defenders: Jordan Harvey, Steven Beitashour, Omar Gaber, Laurent Ciman, Walker Zimmerman, João Moutiñho, Dejan Jakovic,

Midfielders: Aaron Kovar, Callum Mallace, Mark-Anthony Kaye, Benny Feilhaber,

Forwards: Latif Blessing, Deigo Rossi, Carlos Vela, Marco Ureña, Rodrigo Pacheco.