clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Teibert and Froese named to 2015 MLS Homegrown Team

The Blue and White will be well represented in Colorado during the All-Star festivities

Bob Frid-USA TODAY Sports

Landon Donovan announced his 22-man gameday roster for the 2015 Chipotle MLS Homegrown Game today. The league's all-time scoring leader will coach his side against Club America's highly touted U20 team at Dick's Sporting Goods Park on Tuesday, July 28 in the build-up to the All-Star Game. Whitecaps duo Russell Teibert and Kianz Froese were selected by Donovan, serving as great advertisements for the homegrown system with their continued progress over the last few years.

Vancouver were one of five teams (FC Dallas, Colorado Rapids, Columbus Crew SC, Real Salt Lake) with more than one player named to the squad. Moreover, the Kings of Cascadia will be the only club represented from the Pacific Northwest as both Seattle and Portland don't have any homegrown products heading to Colorado.

Rusty is a renowned success story in residency development, joining the programme with only two years of existence behind it before making his debut during the team's first season in Major League Soccer back in 2011. Since then, the Niagara Falls native has climbed the ranks to the role of vice-captaincy, regularly starring as an all-encompassing defensive midfielder under Carl Robinson's tutelage.

Kianz's ascent to prominence has taken place at a more meteoric rate after playing an integral part on his MLS debut in last October's 1-0 away win over the Seattle Sounders. During the recent five-match road trip the 19-year-old netted his first professional goal over the New York Red Bulls to secure three invaluable points, and has impressed observers and coaching staff alike whenever called upon this term.

You can catch the action on the MLS YouTube channel with kick-off scheduled for 6PM PT.

The 2015 Homegrown Team Roster in full:

Goalkeepers: Matt Lampson (Columbus Crew SC), Jesse Gonzales (FC Dallas)

Defenders: Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), Eric Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City), Jalen Robinson (D.C. United), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy), Tyler Turner (Orlando City SC)

Midfielders: Jordan Allen (Real Salt Lake), Jay Chapman (Toronto FC), Sean Davis (New York Red Bulls), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union), Memo Rodriguez (Houston Dynamo), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Harry Shipp (Chicago Fire), Ben Swanson (Columbus Crew SC), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Alex Zendejas (FC Dallas)

Forwards: Coy Craft (FC Dallas), Kianz Froese (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Anthony Jackson-Hamel (Montreal Impact), Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)