clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

First Round of MLS Award Winners Announced

The Rookie of the Year, as well as the Fair Play award winners were announced

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The first round of winners for some MLS year end hardware were announced today, with the Colorado Rapids getting some good news.

Dillon Powers won Rookie of the Year by a wide margin, beating out both DeShorn Brown and DeAndre Yedlin for the honor. You can see the voting recap right here.

Powers takes the crown from Austin Berry of the Chicago Fire, who won the award last season.

Darlington Nagbe from the Portland Timbers was also recognized, snagging the 2013 Xbox Individual Fair Play award, given to the player who is essentially deemed 'most sportsmanlike'. The criteria for winning has to do with fouls committed, cards received, as well as behavior on the pitch.

Finally, the team Fair Play award went to the LA Galaxy, as they had the lowest number of fouls committed, combined with just one red card and 36 cautions.

FYI, if Dillon doesn't name at least one of his future children 'Kenny', he's failed us all.